Aside

Overnight Oats- Oops!

Somehow I managed to drag myself out of bed before 8 today (a Saturday morning! crazy). Pre-workout fuel was a leftover chocolate oatmeal breakfast bar from yesterday. Usually I can’t eat anything before a run, but I didn’t even regret that breakfast bar during my 6.2 mile run followed by 50 sit-ups. However, I did regret skimping on pre-run hydration–even at 8:30 this morning, it was a scorcher! Definitely my thirstiest run in a long time.

Last night I attempted this recipe for overnight oats. It was one of the only recipes I could find for overnight oats that didn’t require plain Greek yogurt (I could only find flavored Chobani in the fridge). I didn’t have chia seeds, so I had to alter the recipe a bit. This is what I ended up using:

1/2 cup Quaker Oats oatmeal

1 cup almond milk

2 tablespoons cocoa

a dash of vanilla extract

1 tablespoon almond butter

1 bananaImageI combined everything besides the banana and almond butter in a container and let it sit in the fridge overnight. However, I didn’t realize that without Greek yogurt or chia seeds, there wasn’t anything to make the mixture expand. It makes sense, then, that this morning I opened the container to find a soupy brown substance.ImageI was pretty disappointed that my overnight oats seemed to be a complete flop. In an attempt to salvage them, I stuck the container in the microwave for what ended up being about 2 minutes. The mixture solidified significantly. It was much thicker and chewier, but the taste wasn’t great. I think I may have used too much cocoa? Still, I stirred in some almond butter. I also sliced up a banana, put the pieces in the freezer for a couple minutes to chill, and then stirred them into the mixture.

The oats were much yummier with almond butter and bananas, but something still tasted funny–almost bitter? Next time I’ll definitely make sure to use Greek yogurt or chia seeds and less cocoa powder.

Fitness-wise, I’ve been thinking about my goals for August. I want to finish Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred series (only 5 more days left on Level 3!) and get started on her 6 Week Six Pack video. Hopefully my abdominal muscles have improved since my last 6 Week Six Pack attempt, when I only lasted for about 10 or 15 minutes of the workout (granted I tried the video in a fit of post-workout spontaneity).

Other goals: improve my flexibility (I’ve been meaning to start doing yoga), and maybe run a 10K. I’m also thinking about how I will continue my vegetarianism during the school year–I’m determined to make friends with the salad bar!

What are your August plans?

Leave a Reply

