Portabella Veggie Hummus Sandwich

Tired of my usual fruit-based meals, I decided to incorporate some veggies into tonight’s dinner. I cooked a portabella mushroom as well as some chopped red onion (I’m a sucker for the portabella mushroom + red onion combo) in a tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil on medium heat. I also toasted two slices of whole wheat bread and smeared garlic basil hummus on each. After the mushroom and red onion bits were done, I slapped it all together, along with tomato pieces, to create a yummy, nutritious sandwich. I find that portabella mushrooms are very flavorful alone, so the combination of hummus and mushroom was even better. I ended up using only half of the mushroom cap in the sandwich (portabella mushrooms can be so huge!) but noshed on the other half after dinner.

 

 

Leave a Reply

